Two Commonwealths

There are two Commonwealths, a Corporate Commonwealth and the Original Non-Corporate Commonwealth. This is clearly defined in the <u>Public Governance, Performance and</u> <u>Accountability Act 2013</u>. They state in the small print that the Corporate Commonwealth entities are legally separate from the Commonwealth and the non-corporate Commonwealth entities are part of the Commonwealth.

11 Types of Commonwealth entities

There are 2 types of Commonwealth entities:

- (a) a *corporate Commonwealth entity*, which is a Commonwealth entity that is a body corporate; and
- (b) a *non-corporate Commonwealth entity*, which is a Commonwealth entity that is not a body corporate.
- Note: Corporate Commonwealth entities are legally separate from the Commonwealth, whereas non-corporate Commonwealth entities are part of the Commonwealth.

Commonwealth entities and the Commonwealth Chapter 2 Accountable authorities and officials Part 2-2 Accountable authorities Division 2

Section 15

Division 2—Accountable authorities

Subdivision A-General duties of accountable authorities

15 Duty to govern the Commonwealth entity

- (1) The accountable authority of a Commonwealth entity must govern the entity in a way that:
 - (a) promotes the proper use and management of public resources for which the authority is responsible; and
 - (b) promotes the achievement of the purposes of the entity; and
 - (c) promotes the financial sustainability of the entity.
 - Note: Section 21 (which is about the application of government policy) affects how this duty applies to accountable authorities of non-corporate Commonwealth entities.

The non-corporate Commonwealth are responsible for promoting the proper use and management of Public Resources, which is defined as relevant money, relevant property, or <u>appropriations.</u>

Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013